It has come to my attention that some of you are interested in all things occult and esoterica. Lucky for you, I am as well. Although I am not a believer, I would be lying if I said I didn't wish these things were real.

After doing a bit of research and paying some attention, it overwhelmed me the absurd amount of influence that "the occult" has had in the media we consume everyday, unbeknownst to all of us.

Easily, I could name a couple:

  • Lovecraft
  • Berserk
  • Dark Souls
  • Black Clover
  • Evangelion
  • Blasphemous
  • Full Metal Alchemist
  • Everything that names the four elements / transmutation / philospher's stone

I am sure that there are many more I just haven't come across, (would appreciate it if you told me!). Grouped together, it is easier to see that these pieces of media are somehow related, for me, the vibe is very similar and I fucking love it. This is the video that first picked my interest, scratched that itch and opened my eyes (yes, all that): The Metaphysics of Berserk - Alchemy and the Occult.

「Quod est superius est sicut quod inferius, et quod inferius est sicut quod est superius.」

When I mention "the occult", I refer to everything that was influenced by Hermeticism.

Tabula Smaragdina, attributed to Hermes Trismegisto

Topics

These are more or less the topics I found out that somehow relate to the hermetic esoterism.

  • Egyptian religion
  • Gnosticism (antique Judaism and Christianism)
  • Hermeticism (of course)
  • Alchemy
    • The four elements
    • The philosopher's stone
    • Transmutation of the soul
    • Esoteric symbolism
    • Elemental archangels

Pretty interesting if you ask me, especially alchemy.

Groups

Here's a list of some groups/schools of thought:

  • Golden Dawn
  • Kabbalism
  • Freemasonry

Texts

Some related writings (I haven't read them).

  • The Hermetica
  • The Kybalion
  • Tabula Smaragdina
  • Artis Auriferae
  • Alchemical studies (Jung)

I just began investigating all this, so my knowledge about it is not so vast and there might be a mistake or two. Having said that, I think that this is a great starting point for anyone that is interesting in all things esoterica, as it is seemingly the roots of it all.

I was wondering whether or not to turn this post into a whole section of the site as a sort of compilation of resources or awesome-list, but I am not sure. I might implement a general "links" section where that could be included. Anyway what the hell am I doing, I should be studying linear algebra.